Member Log In



ORCA Award Nomination Form

This year’s Governing Board is actively seeking your nominations for the following awards. 

The Leona Tyler Award — This award is designed to recognize counselors who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and whose work has had statewide implications for counseling. Dr. Leona E. Tyler was Dean of the Graduate School at the University of Oregon. Her many contributions to our profession, including research, writing, teaching and supervision of graduate students, attained both national and international acclaim.  The award was established in 1967, and was initially presented to Dr. Tyler, announcing that in her honor an annual award was being established by the Association. It is ORCA’s highest award.

The Human Rights Award – Dr. David Capuzzi, former counselor educator at Portland State University, established this award in 1986-87, during his year as President of the American Association for Counseling and Development (now the American Counseling Association – ACA). As a state branch of ACA, the Oregon Counseling Association believes this award is one opportunity to demonstrate its commitment to respecting and fostering human dignity.  The award is presented to members who have demonstrated an exemplary level of professional and personal commitment in the areas of human rights and the advancement of human dignity.

Distinguished Service Award – This award recognizes persons or groups who have contributed substantially to the Association and the counseling profession. This award is traditionally presented to Association members. However, non-members such as legislators, school officials, agency administrators, or others in the larger community may also receive the award for outstanding contributions to the Association.

Larry S. Conner Distinguished Public Advocate Award -- This award honors those who have made outstanding contributions to ORCA’s public policy and advocacy efforts on behalf of LPCs, LMFTs, and all of the people we serve. This award may honor those who have worked to pass an important piece of legislation that advanced access to quality mental health care for all Oregonians, or who have effectively protected LPCs and LMFTs in the legislature, or who have successfully worked with government agencies on the state or federal level to enhance professional counseling and marriage and family therapy.

We all know dedicated professionals who are deserving of recognition by our Association. Please take a moment and think about individuals who have made a difference to our profession, and nominate them for an appropriate award. Deadline for receipt of nominations forms is October 30th, 2020.  If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us at (503) 722-7119.


Or mail to:
Awards Nominations at ORCA
PO Box 2163
Portland, OR 97208

or e-mail to:

1) Name of nominee, current position or title (if nominee is retired or unemployed, indicate former
occupation), full business address (including telephone and email) and full home address (including telephone and email)
2) Also include name of person submitting nomination, title, full address (including telephone and email)
3) Award for which the person is being nominated

Please attach additional pages responding to the following items:
1. Describe in some detail incidents, accomplishments, or behaviors on the part of the nominee, which, in your judgment, warrant public recognition. (Limit one page.)
2. Provide relevant information, essentially biographical, which enables the public to appreciate the nominee’s contribution. (Limit one page.)

Past Award Recipients

The Oregon Counseling Association is a 501(c)(6) tax-exempt trade association.

Join our Google Group Listserv (ORCA members only)

Oregon Counseling Association 
(503) 722-7119 
PO Box 2163 Portland, OR 97208

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software